What to do When More than one Agent Requests your Full Manuscript

When I started getting requests from agents, I had one large question looming over my head. Do you let the agents who had already requested your full know that you’ve had more requests? I couldn’t find the answer anywhere, not on the internet or in any of my writing guide books. So I put on my big girl pants, screwed up my courage, and asked Linda Epstein of The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency, which was named one of the top twenty-five literary agencies in the country (by Writer’s Digest).

You can find the whole conversation here, in the comments section. She was extremely helpful. Basically she said that you should notify agents who have your full or partial manuscript, but not to bother the agents who only have your query, as they my find that pretentious. (Gosh, I hope not! I think I might have ignorantly done this in the past! I can tell you, I won’t be doing that again!)

She was very kind and helpful and my fear of irritating her and getting blacklisted from all literary agencies forever proved completely unfounded. And, I emailed the agents who had requested my manuscript and already got a very nice reply back from one of them, thanking me for keeping her notified and that she would do what she could to move it up in her reading list!

As long as we’re on the topic of helpful advice from agents regarding full and partial manuscripts, Vickie Motter has a new post up on her blog, Navigating the Slush Pile. It’s a FAQ where she answered questions from her readers pertaining to agent requests. It was very interesting reading. I would highly recommend checking it out.

In other news, I plan to start writing my new WIP (work-in-progress) today. My plot is mapped, my characters charted, and I’m ready to go!  I hope to put a little ticker up soon, tracking my progress. This will be my fifth manuscript.

10 thoughts on “What to do When More than one Agent Requests your Full Manuscript

  1. Glad I was helpful! One more but of advice: if you’ve written 5 manuscripts I’d say you are a writer, not an aspiring writer, wouldn’t you? Own it, woman! See how the world feels and what results you garner by actually calling yourself a writer.

    • Thanks, Linda. I guess maybe it is time to change “aspiring writer” to “writer”. It gives me a little shiver, though. Who am I to say I’m a writer? I bet I’m not the only writer to feel that way…

Leave a Reply

