Interview with Jordy Albert of The Booker Albert Literary Agency.

Today, we’ll be interviewing literary agent Jordy Albert of The Booker Albert Literary Agency.  The agency is founded by Jordy Albert and Brittany Booker, former agents of the Corvisiero Literary Agency.  Welcome, Jordy!

Me: How did you become an agent?

Jordy: I had mentioned to a writer friend that I was interested in becoming an agent, and she told me about Marisa Corvisiero’s blog. I thought it couldn’t hurt to ask a few questions, so I emailed her. She emailed me back asking if I’d like to help her read and go through submissions, and of course I said yes!

Me: What are three things that elicit automatic rejections from you when reading the first 50 pages of a manuscript?

Jordy:

  1. Weak character/setting development.
  2. Plot is slow to be revealed, or to confusing/not clear.
  3. Too wordy or too much imagery/description.

Me: What are you looking for right now in fiction submissions and not getting?

Jordy: I’m looking for contemporary or historical romance, and YA that is heavy on romance, and sci-fi/fantasy. I’m also looking for New Adult. Stories featuring travel, competitions, or time travel.

Me: Are there any subjects or genres that are near and dear to your heart?

Jordy: Romance (I love Karen Marie Moning, Kresley Cole, Gena Showalter, J R Ward, Sabrina Jeffries, Teresa Medeiros, and Gaelen Foley-to name a few).

Me: And on the flip side, what are you getting too much of?

Jordy: I’m getting a fair number of suspense/mystery/thrillers, which I’m really not looking for right now. I’ve also received a number of submissions that have a similar theme where the character discovers they have a power/or can shape shift. Which is okay, but it’s a well-known and well-used plot, so it would be cool to see a really unique spin.

Me: What is one thing about you that a writer would be surprised to learn?

Jordy: I LOVE community theatre!

Me: Best piece(s) of advice you can give a writer we haven’t talked about yet?

Jordy: Make sure your voice stands out. After reading so many submissions, they all start to sound similar. For example, when I read a YA submission, there is often a mention of cliques and social structure, which I totally understand, but it all begins to sound the same. I would suggest asking yourself how does this information relate/fit into the story? Does it? Does it help move the plot forward or provide motivation?

Me: Are you open to submissions? If so, how should a writer go about submitting?

Jordy: Yes! We are open to submissions. Please send a query, brief synopsis, and the first 10 pages (copy/pasted into email) to jordy@thebookeralbertagency.com.

One thought on “Interview with Jordy Albert of The Booker Albert Literary Agency.

  1. A very informative post. I will try querying her now. I wonder if she would be interested in MG fantasy despite a YA dominated market…

Leave a Reply

