Interview with literary agent Andrea Somberg of Harvey Klinger Agency

Today, we’re interviewing literary agent Andrea Somberg of the Harvey Klinger agency! If you’re looking for a literary agent, check it out! Maybe she’s looking for your book. Welcome, Andrea.

 Andrea Somberg

Me: How did you become an agent?

Andrea: I grew up in a household of voracious readers — especially my Dad who reads over a hundred books a year.  I love to read, and publishing seemed like a natural fit.  I was an intern for the Don Maass agency in college, and they offered me a job after graduation.  I feel incredibly lucky to have found a career I love so much!

Me: What are three things that elicit automatic rejections from you when reading the first 50 pages of a manuscript?

Andrea: Narrative voice, pacing, and character development are the three things I pay the most attention to, but… I have to admit, I actually do have several pet peeves! I absolutely hate the words ‘gasp’ and ‘smirked.’  As soon as I see them in a manuscript I begin to think about passing….

Me: What are you looking for right now in contemporary fiction submissions and not getting? Are there any subjects or genres that are near and dear to your heart? And on the flip side, what are you getting too much of?

Andrea: I would love to find some great women’s ‘book club’ fiction.  As for genres that are near and dear to my heart, nothing in particular – I like any novel with great characters and an engaging narrative voice.

Me: What is one thing about you that a writer would be surprised to learn?

Andrea: In my free time I really enjoy reading parenting books – even though I’m not a parent!

Me: Best piece(s) of advice you can give a writer we haven’t talked about yet?

Andrea: This is a rough business, filled with rejection.  It’s not for the feint of heart! Best to know that going in……

Me: Are you open to submissions? If so, how should a writer go about submitting?

Andrea: Yes, I’m always on the look out for new clients. Authors should send a query letter and the opening five pages of their manuscript (in the body of an email) to: andrea@harveyklinger.com

You can find Andrea on the web at:

Website- http://www.andreasomberg.com/cms/

Agency website- http://www.harveyklinger.com/

4 thoughts on “Interview with literary agent Andrea Somberg of Harvey Klinger Agency

  1. Great interview – and helpful advice too. I’m happy to say that ‘gasp’ and ‘smirk’ don’t appear in my stories. My characters are usually too scared to smirk and are more likely to scream than gasp!

Leave a Reply

