The Process of Querying Agents and Editors

Today, I am starting a series of posts on the querying process, as well as a series of interviews with actual literary agents. I plan to post the how-to articles on Tuesdays and the interviews on Thursdays (although the agent interviews won’t start until the 18th). Please post any questions and comments you might have, and I will do the best I can to answer them, although I’m scheduled to have a c-section on December 18th. I imagine I’ll be pretty busy after that.: ) For all my regular readers, I’ll also keep you updated on my submission process as my agent sends out my manuscript to editors. Fingers crossed I’ll have something good to share soon!

The articles on the querying process will cover: selecting an agent, resources to help you during the querying process, the query letter, the parts of a query letter, the synopsis, and formatting your manuscript (or sample pages). If there is anything else that you would like me to cover, please drop me a comment.

While I am certainly not an expert, I have had a lot of experience querying agents and editors. In fact, I’ll even be posting my actual query letter that landed me my agent, Michele Rubin of Writers House. As a writer, I know how hard it is to find actual samples of query letters that were proven to be effective.

One comment I would like to make is this; please, please, don’t start querying until you have a full, finished, polished manuscript. It DOES make a difference if your manuscript is full of typos and errors. Also, if an agent or an editor does request a full manuscript, they want it NOW, not five months from now. Remember, publishing is a business. Agents and editors only want to work with professionals, so be a professional.

6 thoughts on “The Process of Querying Agents and Editors

  1. I am just getting ready to start this process. I have a query letter written and I’m now looking researching agents who might be a good fit for my work. It hasn’t been easy to say the least (and here we are thinking that writing the novel was the hard part!). I’ll be subscribing to your blog and perhaps we can enter this venture together. 🙂

  2. Very true. Even as a freelance editor, I expect people to be professional and to have worked hard on their manuscript – not just the story line, but the grammar and syntax as well. Great tips – thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

