Marketing for authors: a necessary evil?

Before I forget,there was a new interview with me posted today. If you want to check it out you can find it here. Now, on to today’s post!

I was talking to my mom on the phone the other day and I mentioned I was feeling stressed and overwhelmed. I’ve been working toward the release of my YA fantasy, Drive Back the Darkness, for a long time. I’ve done revision after revision, copy-editing, proofing, etc. I’ve hired a marketing company to arrange a blog tour. I’ve done interviews and sent email after email asking random people if they wanted to review my book. On top of that, I signed with an agent and have been working on massive revisions on my next book (an unrelated contemporary YA novel.

My mom said, “Of course you’re feeling stressed and overwhelmed. You’re a creative person, and you haven’t been able to create anything new for months. You’ve been working so much towards the business side of being a writer that you haven’t actually gotten to be a writer.” (Okay, that might not be a direct quote, but it was something along those lines.)

The question is, is marketing and everything else that goes along with publishing a book, part of being a writer? Unfortunately, the answer to this is yes. In our world today, the realty is that publishers don’t have a huge marketing budget for every book that comes out. They don’t even have a mediocre budget for most books that come out. The sad truth is, the author has to do much, or all of it, herself. But honestly? It’s not work I even remotely enjoy. I would much rather be creating a story.

There has to be a fine balance between the work you do to promote a book and creating a new one. I, myself, have just about reached the end of my rope in regards to the non-creative aspects of writing. I’m going to have to finish it all up and then get to work on my next story. I can only stand so much business, facts, and schmoozing before it really starts to get to me.

What about you guys? Do you feel the way I do? Does anyone else have a hard time wearing both your creative hat and your business hat? How do you integrate the two?

You can find Drive Back the Darkness at Amazon here.

You can find Drive Back the Darkness at Barnes and Noble here.

7 thoughts on “Marketing for authors: a necessary evil?

  1. I’ve heard of this storm of things, I have, and it kind of freaks me out but kind of excites me. I mean, what more would I like to do then TALK about my story? XD But I think it’s not that simple. Btw, were you in Writer’s Digest? Because I feel as if I’ve heard about your book somewhere…

  2. It’s hard work promoting yourself and I still haven’t found a balance that really works, yet. As Aimee said, let’s hope we can afford to hire someone to do it for us, some day. 🙂

  3. Interesting question Amy. I haven’t created anything for a while either, as I’ve been spending a lot of time editing. I think that you have to follow your passion and wherever possible find someone with the passion to do the ‘other things’. If you can’t, then at least devote some of your day to doing what you love to do. Sandra

  4. I think the best promotion is writing more books. I don’t like marketing either and find blog tours and social media don’t really help much for sales. Also, God bless mothers!

Leave a Reply

