My dream writing schedule vs. my real writing schedule.

Dream Schedule

7:30 a.m.-Wake up and write until 11:30 while someone watches son.

11:30 am-12:15 p.m. Take a nice walk outside with son and dog.

12:15-12:45- Eat lunch with son.

1:00-3:00-Write some more while son naps.

3:00-6:30-Play with son, pick up house, cook supper etc.

6:30-Husband gets home, eat supper, have a nice quite family night.

9:00-Son goes to sleep.

11:00-I go to sleep too.

 

Actual Schedule (this is my actual schedule for today. Son’s bedtime, what happens during naptime, etc. is based on yesterday)

 

8:00-Accidently sleep late. Rush to shower and have a cup of tea before son wakes up.

8:30- Son wakes up.

8:30-10:00-Son clings to me, saying he doesn’t feel good. Insists I watch Thomas the Train with him, then play with stickers on floor. Bangs laptop when I place it on couch.

10-10:30-Son eats breakfast in high chair next to me while I write blog post then write out bills. Only interrupted twice, once to get him more milk, and once when the cat throws up, massively and spectacularly.

10:30-12:30-Alternate between cleaning house and playing with son. Real estate agent coming over later to take pictures and list house on market. Must be spick and span.

12:30-1:00-Read son books and put down for nap. Fusses in crib for half an hour before falling asleep. Continue to clean.

1:00-3:00- Hopefully will get two hours to write while son naps. In realty, being 23 weeks pregnant and taking care of a toddler often catches up with me. I’ll sit down on the couch to write and then wake up an hour and a half later, realizing I accidentally fell asleep and now have an awful cramp in my neck.

3:00-4:30-Take son and dog outside for exercise.

4:30-6:30-Continue to clean house and make supper.

6:30-Real estate agent shows up to take pictures.

7:30- Husband gets home late. Together, we sign documents to list house.

8:00- Finally get to eat.

11:30-Fussing son finally falls asleep

12:30-I finally get to go to sleep too.

 

Does anyone else have this problem? How do you deal with it? I’d love some advice!

7 thoughts on “My dream writing schedule vs. my real writing schedule.

  1. Yes a classic problem. Honestly the best advice I can give is waking up early. When I was unemployed I forced myself to wake up at 7am sharp, quick shower, then either begin writing immediately or read a bit then write.

    I have two jobs now, meaning less time to write, meaning I try to wake up around 5am :/ It’s not always possibly but really the only place in the day to find more time is before the rest of the world starts

  2. Sounds like a ‘normal’ day to me! lol (Sorry. Not helpful)

    I’m afraid I don’t have much advice for you as I didn’t start writing until both my kids were in school. I do have a friend with 2 pre-schoolers who is managing to fit in writing time because she has two sets of grandparents (her parents & the in-laws) who can take the boys for a few hours so she can squeeze in writing time. Sorry, that isn’t too helpful, either, if you don’t have family close-by who could offer the same service. Perhaps a friend could take him for a couple of hours, or a pre-school facility?

    I’m afraid that’s the best I have to offer. I’m not an early riser and if I do get up before 7 am, I’m exhausted by about 8 pm, so I wouldn’t offer that as a suggestion. If you’re anything like me (and being pregnant, I’m sure your energy levels are lower than usual), that’s not the best option .

    I hope you can work out your time-management, soon, although it may have to wait until after your move to smooth out the rough edges. Good luck! 🙂

  3. Oh, my, do I remember these days. Your day sounds like the typical mom/writer/and wearer of 50 hats.

    All I can say is rest when you can. The house will not fall apart if the blinds aren’t dusted or the rug isn’t vacuumed. Life will eventually calm down. Try to get cuddle time with hubby and quiet time for you, even if it’s a quiet, warm bath. Good luck and I’ll keep praying for you. You’re doing great.

    • I agree! And remember to give yourself a break, Amy. Naps are important. It’s still a good day if you haven’t gotten to write; there will be other days, and your kiddos will grow older and more self-sufficient. I have one starting kindergarten (yes!) and one 7-month-old who’s just starting to get into things. I write when I can get up early, but if we’ve had a bad night, I just keep sleeping.

      When I had baby #2 I remembered Faith Elizabeth Hough, a writer and mom of three, telling me she gets tons of writing done after a baby is born because there are so many people around to help. That inspired me to keep going on my novel right afterwards, rather than taking a break, and I did get a lot done.

  4. I’m chiming in late here but I can soooo relate to this post. I finally started waking up at 4 a.m. to write because I felt too stretched. (Which I did until my daughter started kindergarten.) I’d write from 4 – 8 a.m., and then another few hours while she went to preschool a couple mornings a week. I’d get back to the computer for a couple of hours after showers at night. I’d already warned my husband that I probably wouldn’t be much fun for a couple of years. 🙂 There were a few nights when I zonked out on the couch at 8 o’clock. 🙂 The other thing I did was drop TV. I hardly ever watch it now even though all my children are in school and I get a “proper” work day!! I find I get so much more done without it. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

