Would you consider making a book trailer to promote your novel?

So I’ve been going back and forth on this issue, not sure if I should lay out the money to make a book trailer or not. On the one hand, they’re pretty cool and I want one! On the other hand, I’m not sure how well they work as a marketing tool. Will people really stop to watch a two-minute video with a teaser for my book? If they do stop to watch it, will it help push them into buying my book? I just don’t know…

My critique partner recently had one done. The company she worked with has very reasonable pricing, and turns out fairly classy results. I mean, they aren’t anywhere near as sophisticated as some of the book trailers that are present on Amazon. However, she’s not charging $15,000 either. (Yes, that’s right. I checked up on it. Some of those production companies book trailers START at $15,000!!) Like I said, this other company has nice results and a very reasonable (read affordable!) price.

Last night, I was reading Plug Your Book! Online Book Marketing for Authors, Book Publicity through Social Networking by Steve Weber. In it, he discussed how book trailers are especially useful for YA authors, as YA readers are the most likely to watch a book trailer and then go on to purchase your book. That decided it for me. I’m going ahead with one. Hopefully it should be done by the end of next weekend.

My question for you is, have you ever used a book trailer to promote one of your novels? Do you feel it helped? Did it increase your sales? Or do you think it was a waste of valuable marketing money? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Would you consider making a book trailer to promote your novel?

  1. I love the idea of book trailers and if ever, in my wildest fantasies, I had the money–I’d go beyond it, and try to have a trailer as well as a few scenes from the book. I don’t know the finances as well as you so I won’t advise you there.

    It makes sense that YA audiences are most receptive to book trailers, and I think if you are willing to promote the trailer on the web as much as the book itself, it will be an extremely useful tool.

    While it doesn’t feature a trailer per se, Michael Chabon just released a “sampler” for his forthcoming “Telegraph Avenue,” it’s an e-book download with multiple videos including interviews and a tour of the real Telegraph Ave. Not many writers have Chabon money, but it goes to show you how in depth you can get with internet promotion for you book, and a book trailer is the perfect place for to start.

    To sum up my long response, yes, definitely, great call. And also I can’t wait to see it!

  2. I love the idea of book trailers, especially when they’re aimed at the YA market. I’ve been contemplating this issue myself, even though my books have been out there for a few years already. I’m hoping it might stir up new interest. I have a pretty good idea how it should play out and I have been using iMovie on my MAC for quite some time, so I think I might be able to put something together myself. It’s just going to take some time to get it done. I wish you a lot of luck with yours. I’m sure it will be terrific! 🙂

Leave a Reply

