I got the cover art for my YA novel, Drive Back the Darkness!

I know I don’t usually post on Thursdays, but there was no way I was going to wait until monday to show you my cover! Here it is:

The process of making the cover art was surprisingly complex. I had to fill out a form that was six pages long, all about the various visual elements of my novel, themes, character descriptions, etc. Then there was a long wait, where I worried I would hate my cover!

Then, a couple of days ago, I got the prototype! It was gorgeous and I loved it! We tweaked a few things, like the placement of my name and the font. Today I got my final cover!

The necklace doesn’t look quite like what I pictured, but they couldn’t change it without throwing off the whole color scheme, so I totally understand where they were coming from. I get to review my book again between copyediting and proofing, so I’m hoping I can tweak the description of the necklace to make it more like the cover.

So what do you guys think? Do you like it? Let me know!

9 thoughts on “I got the cover art for my YA novel, Drive Back the Darkness!

  1. I love it!! Etopia does do great covers. I’m anxiously waiting to share mine as well. I LOVE it!! I know how you feel about waiting though. I filled out six pages of info and then was a nervous wreck for months, worried that I wouldn’t like it or it wouldn’t be right but it ended up perfect. Good Luck!!

Leave a Reply

