Signing contracts and editing up a storm!

Sorry I’ve been MIA these past few days. I had a ton of work to do, but guess what? My YA novel went to copy-editing last night! I finally finished the three rounds of revisions! I’ll get to go over my book one more time before it goes to proofing. Then it’s done!

I should be getting my cover art sometime in the next two weeks. I can hardly wait to unveil it! And the book itself is tentatively scheduled to come out in September, but we’ll see. Make sure you check out The Literary Mom then, because I’ll be having tons of giveaways and contests for the few months after it comes out!           

I know you saw the title and you’re thinking, “She said she was signing contracts! What contracts? Is she seriously not going to talk about it?” Rest assured, I AM going to talk about it!

I signed with a literary agent last week! I’m just waiting to have the hard copy of the contract in my hand before I announce it. I super excited and it’s testing every ounce of my strength not to tell you now who I signed with! I will say that it is truly my dream agency, the one I’ve wanted to work with since I started writing and figured out what a literary agent was.

My agent seems wonderful. We had a very long talk on the phone and it seems like we really click. She has great ideas about my work and wants to help guide and shape my career, which is exactly what I was looking for. I’m so excited!

On an unrelated note, I need some advice guys. I’m thinking of shelling out the money to change the domain name of this blog from The Literary Mom at WordPress to my author name, Amy M. Newman. What do you think? Have any of you done that? Is it worth it? I just can’t decide…

6 thoughts on “Signing contracts and editing up a storm!

  1. Congratulations, Amy! When your release date gets closer, would you like to do an interview on my blog? I’ve got several interviews lined up for the next few weeks but later on in August I could fit you in, if you’d like. Again, congrats! 🙂

  2. Regarding the blog. I’m thinking maybe shell out the money for the new place (w/o the wordpress.com part), but have this one automatically feed there. I know there’s a way to do it, don’t know what it is though.

    Congrats! I’m really excited for you! 🙂

  3. Jesus, it took me a week (and even then I had to get someone to show me how) to figure out how to add my domain name! Well done you, on all counts. You deserve this 🙂

Leave a Reply

