First round of edits = done!

I did it! My first round of edits is done! Now on to the second round.

I had that nightmare again last night; the one where my book comes out and everyone laughs at it or worse hates it. In my book, there’s a way to remove the human soul. What’s left is a shell that can house another soul. But you always know when the soul has been removed, because the irises and pupils of the eye disappear, leaving behind a white, sightless orb.

In my dream I was sounded by those sightless people. And they were all telling me that I didn’t deserve the title of author. Then they tried to eat me. I didn’t get much sleep.

Do you think it’s going to get any easier? Or am I going to have this nightmare every night until the release? Have any of you dealt with this situation? Do you have any tips for me? I could sure use them. I can’t afford to lose anymore sleep!

6 thoughts on “First round of edits = done!

  1. Firstly, I’m right where you are, having those nightmares and shitting myself.

    BUT!!!!! I’ve read your book, not even the polished, edited, version and I love it. It will be grand and you’ll be the next Cassandra Clare :o) Don’t worry, sleep easy, take care of you and your baby. You’re readers will love it!

  2. First of all, when I have repetitive dreams, I find it helps to think of a solution during the day, and then think about THAT while going to bed. Dinosaur problems? Giant meteorite.

    For your soul-less dudes, perhaps a nice quip. “Well, of COURSE you don’t like it. You don’t have EYES!” (can you tell I’m not a quip person?).

    Now, I go through this with some blog posts. Remember, you write for yourself FIRST (your kids/family second) and THEN the rest of the world. If there’s not a single person who dislikes your book, then you didn’t do a good job. You can NOT please all the people all the time. Stop trying. Also, the least important people to please are sightless… they can’t read w/o eyes, right?

    Also, the great thing about the title, “author” is that once you write something, you authored it. Done. Complete. Forever. 🙂

    Now, go kick those nightmare’s where the sun don’t shine!

  3. I just saw this excerpt from a speech Teddy Roosevelt gave, and I thought of this post. I hope it helps.

    “It is not the critic who counts: not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes up short again and again, because there is no effort without error or shortcoming, but who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, who spends himself for a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows, in the end, the triumph of high achievement, and who, at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who knew neither victory nor defeat.”

  4. Í´ve never dealt with the situation (yet :D) but I do have work-related nightmares. i had to finish writing a paper and right after I submitted it, my brain wouldn´t let me rest. I dreamed that people were laughing at me, telling me everything in that paper was wrong and so on and so on: not a happy dream!
    I´m sure it´s just your subconscious telling you how much it means to you and remember how much you´ve already accomplished! 😀

  5. I have gotten the critique back from my editor, and about 75% of it was telling me that I was spot-on for what I was writing. It’s nice to have the editor on your side. Then the editor said “Throw a teen in there!” and I squawked. “What??!! But-but-but it’s the way it’s supposed to be!” go ahead and let yourself have a knee-jerk reaction. Then I anxiously looked at it again through squinched eyelids, and I realized, “Hey! I could take out these 3 characters and put in one savvy tech teen!” This savvy tech teen is the embodiment of my tech advice: “if you want to learn the current technology, ask a kid.” it almost always works.

    So now I’m delving back into my story, and I can make it work. But I have done maybe 10% in 3 months. Waaaaaahhhh! How do I get back into it??? How do I assure myself I can do this?? How do I remember that the editor really DOES like my work??

    These are my own woes. You might have nightmares until your release–I don’t think I’d be able to be completely free of those. One of the most prolific writers of the past 100 years was Isaac Asimov, and his first short story was rejected. He ended up having published over 300 books when he died. You might take solace in that. I like Ms. Howell’s quote, and yes we end up with all kinds of mud ground into our faces.

    Keep writing! Keep moving! This is stuff I need to remember myself, but everyone needs a cheerleader. I could really use one myself. Thanks for letting me rant.

  6. Your current stresses have come into your dreams to haunt you. It’s simply your insecurity manifesting itself. I’m certain that when your release day comes nothing like your nightmares will happen. I know you may say it’s easy for me to say, but I had ten years of insecurity, sending my baby out into the publishing world and having it sent back time and again. Once it did come out, there was always the feeling that it would be criticized for one reason or another. So far, I haven’t had a really negative review. I have confidence that you will find success, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

