How do you make time to write?

My life has been so exhausting lately; I’m usually asleep before my head hits the pillow. I’m pregnant and I have a two-year-and-two-month-old-child. I’ve been applying for mortgages, house hunting, trying to get our current home ready to go on the market, and trying to finish my first round of editing on my novel. On top of that, I have all my other, normal duties, like cooking supper and cleaning. My husband has a demanding, physical job and works long hours, so we don’t get to see much of him. So my question is, when you are crazy-busy (and I know I’m no the only one who is!), how do you fit writing into your life?

I usually write during my son’s nap time, but to be honest, a lot of the first trimester of my pregnancy involved me sleeping during my son’s nap time instead. I’m feeling a little better now, but I still have a problem. I usually end up making a lot of my important calls to the bank and real-estate office during nap time.

Maybe I should have titled this post, “How do you keep a two-year-old from banging on your laptop?” Because really, that’s the problem. I could probably work for a while well he was awake if he wasn’t fascinated by it. Do you guys have any tips for writing with a toddler in the room? I’d love (am desperate?) to hear them!

3 thoughts on “How do you make time to write?

  1. I wish I had words of wisdom. I don’t, except to hang in there. Is there someone who can take little bit off your hands for a couple of hours a week? Maybe a Mom’s Day Out program at a local church?

  2. I really admire your determination honey, I think I would probably just collapse in a heap and forget the writing 😉

    But, saying that, would I actually be that bad to take a couple of months off? Assign small daily targets for the editing like, 1 page a day? Baby steps (pardon the pun)?

    You need to look after you, and if that means writing gets neglected you shouldn’t feel guilty, just grab moments as and when you can 🙂

    I wish I had some great words of advice, or a magic wand. I openly admit that if I had caught the writing bug when my 3 were little I would never have been able to actually do any 😦

    Xx

  3. This might be lame, coming from someone who is afraid of editing her own novel, but I have issues with my laptop wanting to do its own thing, too. First, the UNDO button is my best friend. I put that where I will always be able to find it. That way, when my laptop decides to do two or three things that I didn’t mean to do, I can get back to where I was.

    Second–and I’ve devised this early on when I started working in Windows 3.1 (in ancient times; 1993)–I developed the slogan “save early, and save often.”

    And if I am writing someplace I know I can really screw up and lose it, I transfer what I’m working on to Notepad or a text program. Then any e-mail (for example) that I’ve screwed up with can be copied and pasted again.

    These I have learned from many times when I’ve lost important e-mails, and when I was working with DOS computers that had no undo button or way to save except to an ancient 8.25 inch floppy disk.

    Yes! I’m ooooooooooooooooooold!

Leave a Reply

