What do You do When you Feel like Life is Going to Fast?

As all of my regular readers know, I’ve had a lot of good things happen in a very short time; my husband got a new, better job, I signed a contract with a publisher for one of my novels, and I discovered I was pregnant for the second time. Now I have something else to add to that list: I just found out that the offer we put in on a new house was accepted. Soon, we’ll be moving to a new home, an hour and a half away from here, but closer to family and my husband’s job.

All of this is wonderful, great, spectacular, except… I suddenly feel like everything is changing too much, and too quickly. I feel like I’m standing still and the whole world is rushing past in a blur of color and movement. I can’t seem to get a hold on anything. My world is turned upside down, and I’m not turning with it very well.

I do know that all of these things are wonderful. I guess I’m just feeling lost, extremely stressed out, and maybe even a little scared. Everything is so very different from the way it was. What if, once I’m on this new path, I can’t handle it, or discover I don’t like it? What if I made a mistake choosing to go in this direction? (Not with the baby. I know that’s not a mistake, although I am a little scared about being able to handle a new-born and a 2-1/2-year-old.)

Has anything like this ever happened to you? How did you handle it? Do you have any advice for me that might help be get my feet back where they belong? I sure would appreciate it!

5 thoughts on “What do You do When you Feel like Life is Going to Fast?

  1. Just remember you are exactly where you are supposed to be at this time in your life. Try to focus on the beauty of all of it instead of the stress of it all. Don’t worry about the ‘what if’s’. Time will take care of all of them and why worry about what you can’t change? Things will be what they are. It’s okay to be nervous and scared. It’s human nature, but it’s also a time to think about all the positive vibes that have come into your lives. By the time the baby comes, little bit will be older. You’ll be closer to family who can help you out. You and hubby will connect on a much more intimate and emotional level. Remember, your hormones are racing right now which adds to the ‘fear’ of the unknown. Take a deep breath. Get into some pregnancy yoga classes, if you can, to help you relax. Take time for YOU to unwind. De-stress, detox. Take long walks. Swim. Exercise does wonders for the mind and soul. Keep us posted on how you’re doing. Exciting times these are. Very exciting times.

  2. I understand what you are going through. A few years ago I went through several changes, all at once. It was overwhelming, mostly because I didn’t feel that I had a firm grip on the events occurring in my life. It’s hard, but you just have to put one foot in front of the other and go with it. You are where you are meant to be and things have a way of ironing themselves out. Good luck and congrats!

  3. What kford2007 said is probably the best advice anyone can give you. She’s right about the hormones kicking your stress into high gear. Pregnancy yoga sounds like a great idea. If not that, then take deep breaths, close your eyes and let it out slowly. Everything will work out. All that is about to happen is wonderful and you will have family to help – and don’t be afraid to ask for help when you need it! Best of luck! 🙂

  4. Wow, yeah, I can imagine you feel like saying “stop the world I wanna get off!”

    You’ve had some great advice so far honey, but I will say….these things will pass, and they do, and before you know it you’ll be worrying about college and universities and waiting up for them to come home 😉

    I’ve discovered as I’ve got older, time passes so quickly. I look back at all the traumas I’ve had to deal with (and believe me, there have been loads) and I realise that, at the time it was horrendous, but I picked myself up and got on with life.

    The things you’re going through are good things, but hell yeah, still scary! HUGE changes on the horizon for you, and i just KNOW youre gunna do just fine 🙂 Make sure you set time aside every day to relax, chill, take a break from life, get some peace and quiet, some time to take stock 🙂

    Good luck honey…..you know, here, there will always be someone who will listen, coz we all get scared of change 🙂

    Xx

Leave a Reply

