How do You Keep the Business of Writing Fun?

So for the last few weeks I’ve been slogging through forms, working on revisions, reading books on marketing, etc. After the excitement of the offer wore off, it’s definitely been work. So my question today is this; how do you keep the business part of writing fun?

I know I’ve talked about it before, but my favorite part of writing is getting an idea, fleshing out the characters, and writing the first draft. This, it turns out, is a very, very small part of the writing business. So how do you deal with the rest, which is clearly just as necessary as writing the book in the first place?

I think maybe after my book actually comes out, and I can hold all that hard work in my hands, that I might feel differently about this part in the process. While it will never be my favorite part, perhaps it will no longer seem like such work either. I also think that a large part of it is nerves, that I might enjoy it more if I wasn’t constantly thinking about my very first book coming out, and if people will like it our hate it.

What about you? What’s your favorite part of the writing process? And is there anything you do to make you least favorite part more fun?

Also, to my regular readers, I’m so sorry that I missed my Saturday poll this weekend. I have some other news I’ll be announcing shortly that will explain why I did, maybe at the end of this week, so stay tuned!

8 thoughts on “How do You Keep the Business of Writing Fun?

  1. Favorite part of the writing process: seeking out the words and tailoring them to fit what I’m writing. As for making the least favorite part more fun, I like to set goals and then you get that satisfaction when the goals are achieved.

  2. My favourite part of writing is immersing myself in the world I’m creating and listening to the characters guide me through the writing. My least favourite part is the research, which is too much like homework, right now. It might work better if I had a deadline set by someone else, so I would feel more compelled to get it done!

  3. I like to write. I especially like it when ideas come and flow and flow and they don’t stop until 100 pages later and I sit back and say “Did I really write that?”

    I just got my first contract for publication, too, and it’s nerve-racking going through all the paperwork and trying to find the best ways to market yourself. It’s so easy for me to sit back and say don’t worry if others will like it or not. A publisher believes in you and your book. That’s a great start for validation. Just remember, you aren’t going to please everyone. Ask yourself: did you do the best you could do? Do you like the story? Did you have fun writing it? Did you betas find it engaging? If you answered YES to all of these, you are on your way to great things. It may not be a best-seller, then again it might. The joy is in the journey and we are all taking the ride with you.

    You’re going to be fine, and so is your book. Do we have a title yet that you can share? A blurb?

  4. I love writing the first draft. Its so much fun to write out a story without getting caught up in making everything perfect. At the same time, I love going in and refining during the editing process. 🙂

  5. I had the very same thought that ‘will it be good enough?’ with reference to my book that is coming out in the summer. So much so that I’m rewriting sections of it again. I also know that there are times when writing becomes a chore (felt like it quite a lot when doing my daily writing challenge!). I think you will feel better once you have seen the process from end to end. I also think it’s important to take your focus away from writing sometimes and create balance in your life. Good luck to you – just focus on your goal! See that end result in your hands.
    Sandra

  6. I definitely have the most fun when I am writing my first draft…the ideas are whirling around and I feel excited to see what I am going to write next!

    While I know most of us cannot wait to get to the business part (cause that means someone finally likes us…really likes us!), I also know it has to be a lot of work…that said, congratulations again…I can’t wait to read the rest of your adventure!

  7. Battling the same thing as you. It’s a tough business and the marketing is a necessary evil. Hope you plow through all the snow and find success in the end!

Leave a Reply

