What Would You do if Someone Asked you to Write in a Different Genre?

So far in my writing career I’ve focused on YA  novels, with a few romances on the side. Recently however, I had an agent tell me that she felt I was meant to write serious women’s fiction. I have to admit, it floored me a little.

While I’ve dabbled with the idea (I even have a serious adult novel plotted out, with complete character biographies), I’ve never actually written in that genre. But this was a big time agent, one who’s made a lot of deals, and knows what she’s doing. If she thinks that is what I should be writing, perhaps there is something there.

I honestly don’t know what to do. I know I want to work on the YA series that I have coming out. It’s fun to write and I’ve enjoyed it. But now I have this little niggle of thought poking at me all the time. What if I’m meant to be writing something else? What if I haven’t found my true voice, my true genre yet? What if I AM meant to be writing serious adult fiction?

Has anything like this ever happened to you? How did you handle it? What did you do? What do you think I Should do? I’d love to know!

6 thoughts on “What Would You do if Someone Asked you to Write in a Different Genre?

  1. I write YA, but I’m considering writing woman’s fiction the reason being that I prefer to write literary fiction, and YA literary is not a big seller (unfortunately). My agent reps YA and women’s fiction, so I might give it a go and see what she thinks. My advice to you? Heck, why not? As writers we need to move out of the box and try new things…who knows, it may even spark new ideas in YA for us. 🙂

  2. well, you’ll always have plenty of folks willing to pre-read 🙂 the series will still be there, and maybe some new inspiration about that one will come out while you’re thinking about a different project?

    you also don’t want to burn yourself out on just the one set of characters…. you need diversity!

  3. Hmmmmm, I think sometimes what we want to write is different from what we’re good at. I have a friend who LOVES writing thrillers…..but, she’s also dabbled in romance, and in MY opinion, her romance is far better than her thriller stuff, it just flows better if that makes sense.

    Personally, I don’t think I’ve really found my genre yet, but I’m doing a romance writing course next month and romance is pretty new to me. Who knows, it might be my forte, and if it is, I’ll run with it.

    Good luck honey, but I say, give it a go if you can 🙂

    Xx

  4. Some of the most prolific writers write in multiple genres. I interviewed Charles Grant for a SciFi newsletter more than 15 years ago and asked hi a similar question. He might be known for writing science fiction, but he has also written horror and even romances – using a pen name. They have all done very well, so don’t think you should confine your writing to only one genre. If you have ideas for a story, write it and don’t worry about where it fits in. If you enjoy writing it, it will be good! 🙂

  5. I once read Stephen King’s advice to write what you love to read. While I believe that people have particular talents and affinities, our talents & creativity are not set in stone. Whatever you dedicate your time & energy to can become a new source of creativity.

Leave a Reply

