Revise and Resubmit Request for my Romance novel

Yesterday, I received a revise and resubmit request for my romance novel! I’ve been working on it, trying to get the revisions done. They aren’t too hard, and actually, I never even noticed the problem until the editor pointed it out. It’s funny, isn’t it? How you can see problems and typos in other people’s writing, but in our own work, we often have a blind spot?

I’m hoping to get the work done within a week and get it back to her. Wouldn’t it be great if I had not one but two books being published? Of course, that will only add to my work load, but hopefully I’d be able to handle it all. And I suppose the largest amount of work is now, while we are making edits and revisions.  Once my book comes out,  maybe I’ll be able to take a little breather.

I’d love some advice from anyone who has been through the publishing process. What’s it like? What happens after your book comes out? How did your life change?

5 thoughts on “Revise and Resubmit Request for my Romance novel

  1. I can relate, I catch on ppl’s mistakes easily, but for some reason we fail to catch our own mistakes… maybe its because our mind is too overloaded it can’t write and edit at the same time, especially when you try to pinpoint a flaw or a sentence which could sound better once you change it.
    All the best in your romance novel, hope one day it’ll find its way to my shelves 🙂

  2. Congratulations on getting TWO books published at once! That is very exciting!

    Besides the actual writing, the editing can be hard, depending on how much your editor thinks needs to be changed. It’s a bit of back and forth until the final product, but after that, the fun stuff begins, depending on how you feel about talking to small groups. Some writers are terrified at getting up in front of a crowd and reading. The book launch is mostly friends and family, so it’s kind of like a big party for you. If they are YA books, you might get asked to read to school classes. For me, with an education background, that has never been tough. I love talking to kids about my books and my writing experience. Talking to other writers at literary festivals has been fun, too. You’ll find most other writers have a lot in common with you and you’ll make a lot of new friends.

    Best of luck with your books! 🙂

Leave a Reply

