Starting Work with My Editor

Well, I’ve started work with my editor! This was another “first” experience that I was feeling a little unsure about. So far, it just seems like a really in-depth critique. (She sent me my first chapter as a sample, so that I could get a sense of how she works.) It wasn’t scary, or harsh, at all. In fact, she said she loved my story, and just wanted to help me polish it, and make it the best that it can be, without losing my voice or my idea of what the story is about.

It wasn’t as scary as I imagined it was going to be and my editor wasn’t the intimidating person I had imagined either, far from it, in fact. I know my fears are a little irrational. I, like most people I imagine, have some trouble with change. I also have a fear of failing. In fact, I think I’ve posted about that in the past.

If you read my post yesterday, you know I’ve been experiencing a lot of nerves about this whole process. I want to thank everyone who offered me words of kindness and encouragement. I can’t tell you how much they meant to me. I’m walking this path for the first time and to know that you all are cheering me on makes it just a little less scary.

3 thoughts on “Starting Work with My Editor

  1. Good luck hon 🙂

    From speaking to a few authors recently I’m now of the opinion that an editor can really help make improvements to your book. Even if you don’t initially agree with their suggestions, it’s worth doing what they say, because 9 times out of 10, you’ll find that they really o know what reads better 😉

    Xx

  2. My first editor loved most of what I’d written and any changes he wanted were minor ones just to polish things up. My second editor was one of my favorite YA authors, which was rather thrilling and a little intimidating at first, but she was great. Having been in the business for years, she really knew her stuff. I trusted her judgement completely and her suggestions really paid off. I am sure you will have great success with your editor, too! She sounds like she will be the perfect match for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

