Could Use a Little Help; Filling out Cover Art and Marketing Forms Today…

And let me tell you, they are NOT easy. I always thought writing a synopsis was tough, but it is nothing, NOTHING, to writing a tagline. My tagline can only be sixty CHARACTERS long. And yes, that includes spaces and punctuation. *Sigh* I think I was dreaming about taglines last night.

I also have to write two blurbs; one long (200-300 words) and one short (100-150 words). The long one may be used for the back cover blurb, and while they told me an editor would help me with it, I’m being my usual perfectionist self and stressing about every little detail…

Other than that, the forms are kind of fun. They ask a bunch of questions about my book that I hadn’t really thought about, like: what words would you use to tag your book for a search engine? Are there any interesting visual elements in your book that might make a good cover? What scene in your book is most representative of the unique personality of you book? It’s fun to think about and imagine what the cover is going to looks like.

Now back to taglines and blurbs. If anyone has some helpful advice on how to distill the essence of my story down to 60 characters, 150 words, and 300 words without giving away the plot, I’d love to hear it. Otherwise, someone might have to get me a wig after I pull all my hair out…

2 thoughts on “Could Use a Little Help; Filling out Cover Art and Marketing Forms Today…

  1. It’s interesting how things have changed in the last five years. I don’t think I had to suggest ‘tags’ for my books, or try to figure out what scenes I could suggest for the cover art. It’s amazing what the difference a few years make on the industry. Good luck thinking up tag lines and blurbs. It is hard to condense a story into so few words. Over the past few years, I’ve managed to come up with a tag line to tell people when they find out I’m a writer and ask, what’s your book about? I now have a sentence I can tell them, if time is short and it’s obvious they don’t want me to start reciting the whole thing! That might be a good way for you to think about it for yours. What do you say to people when they ask you what your book is about? Hope this helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

