Decisions, Decisions…

I’m making some big decisions over here! Sorry, I don’t have a post today, but hopefully I’ll have one for tomorrow. 😉 In the meantime, if you have any questions for our violence in YA literature forum, I’d love to hear them. Remember, we’ll be interviewing Cindy M. Hogan about her YA thriller next Thursday, the 26th, and she’ll be stopping by to answer your questions at the end of the day.

Also, I had a quick question. Does anyone belong to any of the big writer’s societies, like the Society of Children’s Books Writers and Illustrators or Romance Writers of America? If so, have you found it worthwhile to be a member? I’d love to hear about your experiences.

3 thoughts on “Decisions, Decisions…

  1. I personally am not a member of any of the big writer groups but I have been to the local RWA as a guest, and if I could afford the membership, I’d do it. I don’t know if all of them operate the same way, but I learned a lot, met a lot of great people, scored some awesome critique and beta partners and had a really great time. Well worth the four hours. I know several people who are members of RWA that swear by it.

  2. I am a member of SCBWI. They have inside info on conferences and a good pool of writers/illustrators (obv) to connect with.

    Good luck with your decisions!

    “Stay committed to your decisions, but stay flexible in your approach.”
    – Tom Robbins

  3. I’m a member of SCBWI and RWA and MWA. It depends on what you write. For YA writers, SCBWI is phenomenal. I met my crit partner at their Winter Conference in NY. It’s a warm welcoming lovely group too. RWA is very welcoming of all genres, but it is geared more toward romance writers. I joined the local chapter and made many friends and attended workshops and got critiques on my work from fellow members. All useful stuff. MWA is very cool for mystery/thriller writers. Local chapters have great events and the conferences are good for networking.

    All in all I’d say being a member of the national groups has improved my writing and my networking.

Leave a Reply

