Withdrawn from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Contest

I’ve withdrawn my manuscript from the contest.

Thank you LiteraryWonderland for your comment, “I was going to enter but the rules state that you cannot shop your book out to any other pub houses or agents during the review process. And I already have my book in one agent’s inbox. Fingers crossed.”

The rules actually state that you CAN shop it to agents but not pub houses. I hadn’t realized that you couldn’t shop to pub houses until June 16th though!

“6. MANUSCRIPT SHOPPING. Manuscripts submitted as entries to the Contest cannot be actively shopped by agents during the contest period, which runs from January 23, 2012 to June 16, 2012.”

I have decided to have faith in the agents who have my manuscript, and hope someone wants to represent me. I’m sure they wouldn’t want to wait until June to shop it. Oh Well. There’s always next year!

4 thoughts on “Withdrawn from the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Contest

  1. I think you made a very wise decision. Personally, I believe Amazon is going to hurt the publishing industry even more that it is because of their leap into publishing. There’s so much to be said for agents and real, honest to goodness publishers who have been at this for awhile. Good luck with your manuscript. We’re all waiting to hear what is certain to be fabulous news.

  2. Hear, hear!
    Sorry you had to pull out Amz, but hopefully you hear back from an agent soon and she gets to work, firing it out to editors. Fingers and toes crossed for you x

Leave a Reply

