Why do you Write?

I know I’ve talked about this before, but yesterday’s post sparked a discussion on the topic, so I thought I’d put in my two cents.

I write for a lot of reasons; because I have a great story idea and I have to get it down, because every time I read an incredible book I get the urge to write, because I want to move my readers, because I want to share my stories, because I want to be published, because I want to contribute to the world, because I want to have a career but still be a stay at home mom, because I want to help contribute to our family’s financial situation. These are the biggest reasons I write. Did you notice something? I bet you did. I bet you noticed that I didn’t say I love to write. That’s because I can’t honestly say I love it every single day.

That’s right. I love writing some days. Some days, I HATE it. Some days I’m in the zone and don’t even remember putting the words on the page, and when I’m done for the day, I feel euphoric. Some days, each word is like a tiny nugget of gold, mined out of my brain with explosions and a painfully sharp backhoe. Let’s face it, if I wanted an enjoyable hobby I’d knit, or paint, or sew (I swear I’m not a grandma. I’m only 31!); all of which I did before I started writing. I never had a day where I HATED to knit.

So to be honest, on a day-to-day basis, I can’t really say I write because I enjoy the process of writing. I write to get my words out into the world. And honestly, that’s a pretty hard thing to do without the help of a publisher. So yes, I get down about it sometimes, and worry that I’m wasting my time, and that I’ll never get anywhere with it. But here’s a secret. I have a great idea. I’m going to take a few weeks off from writing, and then get started on it. In fact, it seems like after I finish a manuscript, there’s always another great idea waiting. And I say, okay one more time, I’ll go through this. But you know what? This will be my fifth manuscript. Sometimes, I say I’m thinking of quitting. Then, I look down and realize my fingers are still on the keyboard.

2 thoughts on “Why do you Write?

  1. Sometimes a break is just what you need…ideas start flowing…and that need to get back to the keyboard overwhelms you and you get back on track and wonder why you paused to begin with! 🙂

Leave a Reply

