Partial Request of my Manuscript!!

Sorry folks, the query letter series will have to wait one more day, because yesterday I got my first partial request for my new manuscript! WHOO HOOO! I totally wasn’t expecting it either, because I’ve only sent my query out to a select few agents. I was SHOCKED to see it in my inbox yesterday!

Okay, okay, I know I shouldn’t get my knickers in a knot. I’m trying not to get my hopes up too much, because then they’ll have so much farther to fall. But I will say this. This partial request couldn’t have come at a better time. If you follow my blog at all, you know how discouraged I’ve been lately. A small part of me was even wondering if I should throw in the towel, while a much larger (and much louder) part of me was yelling at the smaller part. This yelling was mostly made up of unsavory names, such as “quitter” and “dream crusher,” among other, much worse names I can’t repeat on this blog.

Anyway, this was exactly the boost I needed to get back to work. My sprits are lifted and hope has sprung eternal once again.

7 thoughts on “Partial Request of my Manuscript!!

    • This agent asked for a query letter and the first ten pages (which happened to be my whole first chapter). Then, a couple hours after I sent that, she emailed me back and asked for the first fifty pages of the manuscript! This is a standard “partial.” The next step will either be a rejection, or a request for the “full,” which means the full manuscript.

  1. Oooh congratulations! Good luck to you! Knowing that you’ve been struggling and just got this breakthrough gives me hope for my own writing aspirations. Just remember: Even if things don’t work out this time (and I’m totally crossing my fingers for you that they will!), this is still a huge win! Be proud—go celebrate!

  2. Squeal! *throw confetti in the air*

    this is awesome news! No, it’s not a contract but every step is one step closer to publishing. This is fantastic news and you should be ecstatic! Go celebrate! You deserve it, mommy. I’m so happy for you and I’ll keep my fingers crossed they ask for a full. *all smiles*

Leave a Reply

