Writing: A Leap of Faith

“Writing a novel is like driving a car at night. You can see only as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.” – E.L. Doctorow

 

Writing involves a huge leap of faith for me. Every time I sit down to start a new project, I’m assailed with doubts. I think, “What am I doing? What makes you think anyone will want this one? Nobody has wanted any of the others. Why waste your time? You should be doing something else while your son sleeps, like cooking supper, or knitting. This is going to be so much work, and for what?”

 

While I haven’t sold anything yet, I imagine that I would still feel the same way had I sold ten novels, or twenty novels, although my train of thoughts might be a little different. Still, it’s understandable; you’re sitting down, investing HUGE quantities of your time, in this labor of love that no one else might ever want. And it’s scary. But I do it anyway. And each time, I have to truly believe that this story will be better then the last (and they always are), that this story will finally find a home with an agent or publisher who loves it. And I have to repeat this mantra to myself every single day until I’m done writing. Then, while it makes the rounds, I immediately get started on the next, telling myself that THIS will be the one.

 

While a large part of me believes that if I just keep plugging away, writing and sending out novel after novel, I’ll eventually get published, another part of me wonders; will I really, though? What about you? What do you do to get through the doubts?

6 thoughts on “Writing: A Leap of Faith

  1. At the end of the day, I lay my head on my pillow knowing that I pursued my dreams. Doubts can eat away at you piece by piece. I shake off the negative thoughts and become more determined to turn my dream into my reality.

  2. I agree with tiffjjwl, it is all about pursuing your dreams. In the end, it doesn’t matter, when you’re writing the thing, what other people think. What matters is getting it down, editing it, revising and adding, then maybe when you feel its pretty much ready, you can send it off into the world and ask for feedback. I’ve learnt an awful lot over the last year – that writing is just that – sitting my butt down and churning out those words, no matter what anyone else thinks. Its my dream, and it’s your dream, and I think every writer has the same doubts. I find it very hard to sit down and write sometimes, but I know there is nothing like the buzz I get when I’ve finished writing something and have achieved one of my personal goals 🙂 It’s all for the love of it, as well as the desire to see something published. We’re doing something amazing, and I let that spur me on, with the many writers out there doing the same thing.

  3. Pingback: Two Blog Awards in one day: 7X7 and The Versatile Blogger | The Literary Mom

Leave a Reply

