Newer YA Books You’ll Love to Read

If you are interested in writing for the YA market, then you must read, read, read the YA market. Here is a list of books to get you started!

1. Moonglass by Jessi Kirby- (contemporary YA) I loved the voice of this story. So not the typical teen- not totally boy crazy, concerned with other things in her life, especially coming to terms with her mother’s death, and with a hint of mystery and a deep, touching drama. Excellent read!

 

2. Just Listen by Sarah Dessen- (contemporarily YA) Actually, I would recommend all of her books, but this is a great one to start with. I love how she picks a central theme, then works almost every scene in each book off that theme, like a giant, intriguing web. I can never put down any of her books once I start to read them.

 

3. Divergent by Veronica Roth- One of the best Dystopian YA books out there. Her world is complex and intriguing, with characters that immediately pull you in. This was another one that was extremely hard to put down!

 

4. Wake by Lisa McMann- (The first in a paranormal series) These books cover some heavy, gritty topics, but in a way that is new and refreshing. They’re all fast-paced, can’t-put-them-down books. I’d definitely recommend them, but again, they can be rather heavy at times.

 

5. Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt (YA fantasy)- I loved this book! It’s unique, beautiful, and full of magic! While it had a twist that I saw coming, it was still immensely satisfying. If you’re looking for a paranormal romance, then read this one. One of the best I’ve ever read, period.

 

6. Mistwood by Leah Cypess (YA Fantasy)- If you liked Graceling, you must read Mistwood. In fact, I think I might have liked it better than Graceling (Although I enjoyed that, too). I found it suspenseful, beautiful, eerie, in short everything a good YA fantasy should be. Plus, she’s a female character who kicks butt. She doesn’t have to depend on some guy to rescue her. What else could you want?

 

7. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson (contemporary YA)- This is an excellent Contemporary YA, which explores the topics of grief, death, losing a sister, and becoming who you were truly  meant to be. Lennie’s moving journey is one that will stick with you a long time.

 

8. The Body Finder by Kimberly Derting (paranormal YA thriller!)- I love that this is more a paranormal thriller then a paranormal romance. I don’t know about you, but I’m kind sick of the whole paranormal romance thing. This is the story of Violet Ambrose, who has been able to psychically sense dead bodies for her entire life. I know, right? It grabs you right from the beginning, and you can’t put it down.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Newer YA Books You’ll Love to Read

  1. I recently read “Sister’s Red” by Jackson Pearce and thought it was a great YA book. It takes a spin on the Little Red Riding Hood story and involves werewolves. I thought the premise was unique and overall a good read.

  2. All I read is YA fiction and I couldn’t believe that all I’ve read on your list was #3 and #8!! I will definitely be putting the rest on my “hold list” at the library!! 🙂 Thanks for the recommendations!
    If you’re looking for new books as well…I try to post new ya book reviews every Monday and Friday!

  3. Amy, have you read Soul Screamers and The Morganville Vamps? Loving both, half way through The Morganville Vamps at the mo and can’t put them down. Well worth a glance. Better than Twilight, the heroin, Claire, is way more kickass :o)

  4. Pingback: Two Blog Awards in one day: 7X7 and The Versatile Blogger | The Literary Mom

Leave a Reply

