NaNoWriMo: Beauty or Crap?

 “The quickest, easiest way to produce something beautiful and lasting is to risk making something horribly crappy.” –Chris Baty (founder of NaNoWriMo)

I was afraid at first that working at such a quick pace would produce nothing but crap. Actually, the opposite is true. I feel like I’ve produced some of my best writing. I’ve had some truly sparkling passages, fully emotional sentences, really alive characters, and all because I am writing so quickly that my inner editor hasn’t had time to process it all. I think she’s still stuck back on the first page!

Now, I’m not saying there aren’t pages and pages of crap mixed in, because there are. Some days, I’ve been all about just making my word quota, and not so concerned about the quality. I guess that’s okay. I doubt there’s a single writer doing NaNoWriMo that hasn’t had that happen at least once. Those word goals are a killer! There’s a lot of pressure to make sure you reach each days goal, so you don’t fall helplessly, hopelessly behind. But I think I’m starting to see Mr. Baty’s point: The faster you write, the more the writing is coming from some deep, creative core within you, and less from that analytical side of your brain, censoring and editing your every word.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Beauty or Crap?

Leave a Reply

