Thoughts on NaNoWriMo at 35,000 Words

I’ve now written 35,053 words and find myself filled with an odd mix of emotions. On the one hand, 50,000 is easily in sight now, unless there is some massive disaster, and that fills me with hope and confidence. On the other hand, I don’t think my story will actually be finished at 50,000 words, which fills me with doubt. I think it’s probably going to be more like 70,000 words, which is on target for a contemporary young adult novel, but it still makes me worried.

 

I guess I’m wondering, what do I do now? It’s been hard, keeping this pace up, especially with my son and me both being sick. I’m sleep deprived, I need exercise, and my back, fingers, and neck hurt. On the other hand, I know that if I take a break at 50,000, it’s going to be really hard to get started back up again. I’m really leaning toward trying to do all 70,000 (or however much it takes to reach The End) by the end of the month. I know it’s the smart thing to do; just keep my forward momentum going and get it done. But I’m filled with dread, thinking of the thousands and thousands more words I have to write, and in such a short period of time.

 

Maybe the best thing to do is not to think about it, just keep writing, and be done when I’m done. I’ll let you know when my fingers start to bleed.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on NaNoWriMo at 35,000 Words

  1. With fifteen thousand words left, could you leave out scenes? Then the rough draft will be completed by the end of NaNoWriMo. You may have more writing to do, but inserting scenes here and there might be easier than finishing a novel.

    Good luck, awesome progress. Robin

Leave a Reply

