20,000 Words Equals Hope

I broke 20,000 words this morning. 20,771 to be precise. Now, instead of fear and stress, I’m feeling a new emotion: hope. I never thought I would get this far this quickly. True, I hadn’t planned on getting up literally before dawn each day to write, but still. I’ve been averaging about 4,000 words a day, a pace I’ve never been able to manage before (see yesterday’s post), and I’m not even all that stressed out.

I am, however,  purposely making today a slow day to rest and recharge a little.  I slept in an extra hour and only wrote for one hour this morning so far. I actually think I might be able to “win” NaNoWriMo! Not only am I excited about my specific NaNo project, but I’m excited to apply this to the rest of my writing life. I would love to be able to write more than a book a year, and I think I’ve finally found a way! (Of course, I’ll have to let you know if this fast pace means massive amounts of rewriting that take up the rest of my year.)

What about you? Have you had any writing breakthroughs due to NaNo? I’d love to hear about them!

3 thoughts on “20,000 Words Equals Hope

Leave a Reply

