NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)

Well, it’s almost time for the annual kickoff of NaNoWriMO, which is National Novel Writing Month (50,000 words in thirty days). I just signed up. I don’t know what I was thinking. It must have been peer pressure! There’s been a lot of talk about it over at the Harlequin Forums. I did it once when I was younger, and let me tell you, it is HARD! Do you know how many words a day that is, people??? If you don’t know, let me tell you. That’s 1,666.6667 words a day! Not so bad for a day or two, or even the first week, but then you miss a day and whoops! Now you have 3,333.3333 words to write, or about 14 pages! Anyway, because I am now married and have a toddler, I don’t think there is hope that I’ll be able to do the 50K that everyone is working for, but I am hoping to finish my WIP, a historical romance. I’m at 43,000 and my goal is 70-75k. Realistically, that will be an extremely hard goal to meet. I think I would settle for 20-25k, for a total of 63,000-68,000 words.

 

If you are at all interested in trying to write a novel in a month, I’ve included the link to the NaNoWriMo website in my blogroll, although technically it isn’t a blog. They have some great stuff over there, including word count trackers, forums, pep talks. Basically, everything you need to write your novel in thirty days.

 

There is, however, one more resource I would recommend, and that is the book No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days by Chris Baty, the founder of NaNoWriMO. I found it invaluable the first time I did NaNoWriMO, and would never consider doing the program with out it. It has a week-by week breakdown of what you should be accomplishing and how to do it. It also is chockfull of pep-talks and little tidbits of advice. I’m going to start rereading it this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

